Florida  |  Elder Law

question bubble
3/09/09, 11:40 am

Legal Question


power-of-attorney abuse

I have an 88 year old stepmother,

with Alzheimer's, who is living in an

apartment in Palm Beach, Florida.

She also has another apartment in

Manhattan that is worth in excess of

a million dollars. Last year, (Dec

2007) she appointed the son of a life

long friend as her power of attorney.

In Sept, 2007 (3 months prior to the

appointment) she had given him and

his family permission to live in the

Manhattan apartment because he

was in poor financial straits. She was

going to permanently live in Palm

Beach. Now after being her power of

attorney for a little more than a year

he is asking her to give (gift) him

ownership of the apartment. She has

said no to this, but I fear that he will

continue to apply pressure. In

addition he also wants her to pay for

his son's tuition in a Manhattan

private school.

Are the actions that he has taken

an abuse of his power of attorney

duties? Since he has been charged

with overseeing her financial

business, it seems unethical to me

that he is helping himself to the

assets. Do I need to seek counsel to

protect her?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search