Florida | Entertainment Law
Legal Question
I have a small entertainment/band company that performs cover songs and has several of these songs on our web site as demos. Recently I , and several people I know in the same sort of business, have been getting letters and emails from ASCAP asking us to purchase a license to use their copyrighted materials, and threatening legal action if we do not comply. I certainly want the composers and performers who created these songs to be fairly compensated, but wonder what my responsibility is in this matter. In 40 years in the music business this has never before been an issue.


