Florida  |  Environmental Law

question bubble
8/20/09, 11:37 pm

Legal Question


i have my electricity with chelco, they are very strict on making payments. they only allow you to have 1 extention every six months. every summer my bill gets up to 400.00 or even more. they will shut off your power, demand that payment, the next payment and an additional deposit.i have 4 children ages 7 -11 months. by laW ARE THEY ALLOWED TO SHUT OFF MY POWER


question bubble
8/21/09, 3:08 am

Legal Answer


Yes, by law you are not entitled to electricity unless you pay for it.

I would like to suggest that perhaps your bill is excessive and the electric company may come to your home for free and make an assessment of what is raising your bill so high. Energy efficiency assessment is a service most utilities offer for free.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search