Florida  |  Environmental Law

question bubble
9/30/09, 4:16 pm

Legal Question


Can an ex felone with a murder charge and armed robberies practice law or a certain area of law in any state in America, even when the crime was at the age of 16. Person did 13 1/2 years got out in 2003 with only 3 months probation. He has entered college with a GPA of 3.76 as of now. He wants to become an attorney. Can he practice anywhere or is all hope for him gone?


question bubble
9/30/09, 10:06 pm

Legal Answer


The laws in FL do not prohibit a former felon from practicing law (although the law may be changing soon). The admission criteria are strict, and he would need to explain in-depth. Financial crimes (such as robbery) and crimes of moral terpitude (such as murder) may be enough to prohibit him from the practice of law. But, if the FL Bar determines that he is fit to practice law, then they may grant him a license. I would not invest in the law school education before contacting the Bar in question to get their preliminary opinion.

I cannot speak for the criteria in other states.

Environmental law? This should be in Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search