Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/11/13, 4:14 pm

1) I put my about to be ex-girlfriend on the deed to my house. She has no investment in the property and does not contribute to the upkeep or pay any of the bills. How do I get her off the deed.

2)Since she's on the deed how can I make her move out?

4 Answers


Answered on: 6/11/13, 4:22 pm by David Slater

Since she is on the deed, you will have to bring an action to quiet title unless she consents to execute a deed in your favor.

You can then also seek to evict.

Time is of the essence.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/11/13, 4:25 pm by Brent Rose

Ask her to sign a quitclaim deed giving her interest in the house back to you (actually, you both would sign a quitclaim over to you). When that fails, offer to buy her out of the house. Once the deed is solely in your name again, ask her to leave and, if she refuses, file an action for ejectment (not eviction, because she isn't a paying tenant).


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Orsini & Rose Law Firm PO Box 891325 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33689

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/12/13, 3:31 am by John Smitten

By adding her name to the property you just gave her half ownership of your house.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


McGuire Law Offices 1173 NE Cleveland Street Clearwater, FL 33755

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/13/13, 6:03 am by Carolyn Jones

Unfortunately when you added her name to the property you gave her half ownership to the house.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Carolyn R. Jones 3107 Spring Glen Road suite 203 Jacksonville, FL 32207

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search