Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/07/13, 5:22 pm

I am 10 weeks pregnant. My insurance has a deductible which I have not met yet. I recently broke up with my significant other, he just mention abortion to me but that's not an option at all. I would like to know if he is responsible for assisting me regarding my insurance deductible during my pregnancy or if not what can I do to get assistant from him now through the court for my unborn baby during pregnancy?

4 Answers


Answered on: 2/07/13, 6:12 pm by Jennifer Jacobs

Unfortunately you will not be able to get assistance from him through the court until the baby is born. At that time you can file a Petition to Establish Paternity and if he is in fact the father, the court will order him to pay child support.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Jennifer A. Jacobs, LLC 7200 Aloma Ave., Ste E-5 Winter Park, FL 32792

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/07/13, 6:19 pm by David Slater

Will he acknowledge paternity?


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/08/13, 1:55 am by John Smitten

You have to petition to court first then get an order that he reimburse you for his share of the pregnancy expenses. Contact my office for free consultation 727-446-7659.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


McGuire Law Offices 1173 NE Cleveland Street Clearwater, FL 33755

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/08/13, 9:09 am by Lucreita Becude

Until your child is born there is nothing the court can do for you. I suggest once the child is born that you file a petition for paternity in order to get child support from this person. In the meantime, enjoy your pregnancy - what a beautiful gift from God.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search