Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/06/13, 6:05 pm

My 15year old daughter is here on visitation. She has told me she does not wish to continue to live with her father and wishes to move with me. Her 16 year old brother is also here but he wishes to stay with his dad. What are my options?

4 Answers


Answered on: 7/07/13, 7:38 am by Brent Rose

You probably have no options. A child's desire to move is not a sufficient ground under most states' laws to allow a change of primary timeshare ("custody"). Discuss it with the father and see if he will agree to the change.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Orsini & Rose Law Firm PO Box 891325 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33689

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/07/13, 7:44 am by Robert McCall

If there is no agreement with the other parent your only option is to return to court. In Florida a childs desire is basically irrelevant, the court focuses on whether there has been a substantial and material change of circumstances.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Robert McCall 1515 Elizabeth Street, Suite H Melbourne, FL 32901

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/07/13, 12:41 pm by John Smitten

You cannot withhold the child. You have to petition the court to change custody


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


McGuire Law Offices 1173 NE Cleveland Street Clearwater, FL 33755

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/08/13, 8:32 am by Carolyn Jones

In order to change custody you have to file a Petition with the court.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Carolyn R. Jones 3107 Spring Glen Road suite 203 Jacksonville, FL 32207

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search