Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/06/11, 1:52 pm

I have a 4 yr old daughter. Her father and I never married and custody has not been established in court. As I understand it, Florida law says that as the birth mother I have legal custody since there has been no ruling by any court on this matter. I was a victim of domestic violence from my ex but it was not reported. Since our split he has continually threatened & harrassed me until I allowed our daughter to move in with him. Recently I tried to stand up to them and insist upon my legal rights saying I wanted to have our daughter live with me. The ex's girlfriend then began threatening me. Her mother ,who also lives with them joined in with threatening to bring a whole car load of females to "kick the sh*t out of that b*tch". Some of these threats I have been able to document through screen captures. While she does not specifically state my name or address the threats directly to me it is obvious to myself & others who she is threatening.

I've tried to research it but am unsure if this constitutes a domestic violence situation. I am thinking of filing an injunction against the female, her mother, & my ex for past DV issues and I need to know which injunctions to file.

The girlfriend also has taught my daughter obscene hand gestures as well as a sexually suggestive finger sucking thing. My daughter has no problem telling others that "____ taught me that".

I need to know where to turn

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

213 Answers given in the last few hours.

7573 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search