Florida | Family Law
Legal Question
Alimony termination
I have been divorced for almost two years. I was ordered to pay permanent non modifiable alimony. My ex is now cohabitating with a significant other. Can alimony be terminated on the basis of the recipient cohabitating?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: WENDY HAUSMANN |
Re: Alimony termination Possibly...there is now some caselaw that supports a termination of alimony based on cohabitation, but there are several factors involved. For example, how long has your ex been cohabitating with this new person? Is the "cohabitant" supporting your ex and if yes, can you prove it? These are but a few factors to be considered.... It it impossible, without knowing the specific facts of your case, to definitively answer this question for you. If you would like to meet to discuss this further and/or to obtain some of the caselaw concerning this issue, give me a call. I am happy to assist clients on an "as needed" basis and provide consultation services at the rate of $100.00 per half-hour.
Wendy A. Hausmann, Esquire (561) 477-5353 |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
The Orsini & Rose Law Firm
Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL
Questions Answered: 4585
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of Latangie Williams, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Offices of Marie-Anne Oatley
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


