Florida  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/08/10, 2:17 pm

Legal Question


My brother has been married for approximately 4 years and they have twins of 6 months old. She is a permanent resident through his petition and he is a U.S. citizen. His wife has family in Venezuela of which they are constantly involved in her life and are constantly trying to convince her to go to Venezuela with the babies. My brother has repeatedly said no even though she tells him every now and again that she is the mother and can take her kids wherever without him. Being a notary, and notarizing letters of consent for travels outside the country for other individuals with kids, I know that she CAN NOT take the babies without his consent. She and her family are quite clever and we are afraid that with a relative of hers working for some government agency in Venezuela might find one way or another to accomplish this. My questions are: can she/they do this? how can he prevent this? is there a letter from another notary that can assist? and also, how would a divorce help or hinder this situation?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search