Florida  |  Family Law

question bubble
12/30/07, 12:03 pm

Legal Question


child support factors

I have a child support case Lee Co. that was ordered in 96. Garninshment started in 96, however, my ex moved to Marion Co. from 94 - 99, then back to Lee. Marion Co. ordered another judgment in 2000 due to the fact that she received assistance in Marion co. I had been paying support weekly for the whole period witht the exception of 4 weeks that I was unemployed due to illness. I was informed yesterday that I owe $105,000 in back support! How is this possible? My support is 1791/mo plus I pay health insurance at $500/mo out of my pocket for all 4 of my children, one resides with me from current relationship), one resides with my ex, and 2 are over 18 and out of the home. The order was for our 3 mutual children. They say they won't reduce my support because she is on state assistance. She has not worked in 15+ years. What can I do to have this reduced and arrears corrected to reflect one child that lives with her. Does insurance and the child that resides with me full time act as factors on the FL guidelines? How did Marion Co. attach more child support for the same children in the same time frame as Lee co? I feel as if the state is ''double dipping''. I need help. I ave. $65k/yr, after tax, insur. and CS, I'm broke!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search