Florida  |  Family Law

question bubble
8/03/07, 11:38 am

Legal Question


Division of properties

My husband and I were married in 2001 and had a prenuptial agreement stating that we would get a percentage of our homestead depending on the amounts each party paid. I paid for the house 100%, so I am not concerned about that issue. I have quite a bit of money in the bank and wish to purchase a second home as an investment (and for my mom to move into at a later date). The house would be in my name only. Is my husband entitled to half of that equity if we were to divorce? He has talked about divorcing for some time and has made it very clear that he will take me for whatever he can. He came into this marriage with over $60,000 in debt (unknown to me), which I paid off for him. He has now accumulated another $40,000+ debt in his name only. We have no joint accounts. Will I be responsible for paying half of his credit card debts upon a divorce. A divorce is inevitable. The only reason it hasn't occured yet is that I don't want to pay him off without knowing my rights and I hesitate to go to a lawyer and tip my hand. He was very underhanded and took his first wife through the cleaners and I don't want him knowing that I'm inquiring and doing the same to me. Please help!!


This is an unanswered question.

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search