Florida  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/21/10, 3:49 pm

Legal Question


Divorced 16 years ago. Husband never payed me money awarded as my sole and seperste property. Took him back to court 2 yrs later. He was ordered again to pay. He never did. He moved out of state and I didn't know where he was for several years. When I found him I took him back to court for failure to pay child support & alimony. Then I had to track him down again to get him to pay arrears on child support & alimony. CS & alimony have now been paid off and I am wanting to collect on the money he was ordered to pay me as my sole and separate property. I was negotiating with his attorney and he only wants to pay me $150 a month on a $7800 amount. I think he can pay more so I want to take him back to court. Has it been too long (14 years) for me to collect? He and his attorney both have admitted he still owes me the money. Can I request interest on the money he owes me? I can't aford an attorney so I want to do it myself. Would I file for contempt or order enforcement? I read somewhere that domestic orders are renewable after 7 years. We both live in Florida and were married and divorced in Florida.

Thank you.


This is an unanswered question.

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search