Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

Divorce-How can you protect the wifes retirement portion from creditors ($38,000) and deficiency judgement ($100,000) when her half ($114,000) is transferred out of husbands Thrift Savings Plan during divorce in Florida?

How do you protect the pension from creditors and mortgage company?

Asked on 9/07/12, 12:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

R. Jason de Groot R. Jason de Groot, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Retirement and pension benefits are already exempt in Florida. See chapter 222 of the Florida Statutes.

Read more
Answered on 9/07/12, 6:23 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now