Florida | Family Law
Legal Question
Employment or College courses
Would I not be granted permanent alimony if I seek employment or take classes prior to a divorce being final if I have been a homemaker for most of 18 years?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Stan Halbert |
Re: Employment or College courses You haven't given enough information to give a definitive answer. However, the major factors a court utilizes in awarding alimony are: the length of the marriage; the ability of one spouse to pay enough alimony to maintain both parties at the standard of living enjoyed during the marriage, and any income-generating opportunities the poorer spouse gave up (or missed) due to the marriage. Simply taking classes or employment should not bar you from receiving alimony. If you would like representation regarding this matter, I can be reached at 407-679-3823. Stanley E. Halbert, Esq. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
The Orsini & Rose Law Firm
Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL
Questions Answered: 4585
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of Latangie Williams, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Offices of Marie-Anne Oatley
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


