Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/12/13, 12:00 pm

Florida law on time sharing? Can requests for overnights be denied if father hasn't seen daughter in over a year?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/12/13, 12:28 pm by Elliot Goldstein

As long as you haven't been keeping him from the child, I would suggest seeking to modify time sharing.

Child support is in large part based upon the number of overnights the parties have with the child. If he isn't exercising his visitation, then why should he be getting the benefit of any reduction is child support.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Elliot Jay Goldstein 1014 Ohio Ave., Ste. B Palm Harbor, FL 34683

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/12/13, 2:59 pm by Brent Rose

A father can't legally be denied seeing his child if he has a court order allowing timeshare. It's not up to anyone but the judge to make the decision as to whether an unmarried father (or mother) sees a child. If a father has neglected seeing his child, the mother may want to seek change in the timeshare order from the judge, but the mother can't unilaterally make changes by denying timeshare.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Orsini & Rose Law Firm PO Box 891325 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33689

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/12/13, 3:23 pm by John Smitten

It is not fair to the child for the father to be absent for over a year. You need to petition the court to have a set schedule in a court order.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


McGuire Law Offices 1173 NE Cleveland Street Clearwater, FL 33755

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search