Re: Is it too late to answer the petition?
NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
First and foremost, if your spouse knew of your address and failed to have you served but published instead by swearing that she did not know your address, this is considered fraud upon the court and the judge should be very concerned about this taking place. You should make a very loud statement about it to the court.
Second, you need to call the judge's chambers today and inform them that you have never received the complaint and request that the judicial assistant send one to you by facsimile. Many times the judge's staff will be very cooperative with a party who is unrepresented by an attorney.
At the same time, request that you be allowed to attend the hearing by telephone tomorrow. The court will allow you to call in and be heard by telephone if you arrange for your appearance in advance.
Scott R. Jay, Esq.