Florida  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/28/02, 9:47 am

Legal Question


Married in NYC currently a Florida resident. Spouse's location unknown.

I was married about 1989 in the Bronx, New York but we weren't committed and drifted apart...no fights, no arguments, etc. I left the state (NY) about 1992 and lost touch with this ''spouse''. I wish to have this legally severed. Do I have to go through a divorce, or is there another name/process for this sort of thing. His whereabout are unknown to me and have been so for about 10 years. I don't wish for him to know of me now. Someone told me I can place a Public Notice in a NY newspaper to cancel this tie since I don't know his whereabouts... What does that mean?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search