Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

I am the petitioner for a divorce. I have custody of one child and my ex wife has the other. I recently lost my job and filed for Temporary Cash Assistance. The divorce papers state that there is no child support being requested, it just has not been finalized through the court. DCF is requesting me ask for child support and had to comply so I would not get denied benefits. Will I be able if it goes to court to request I do not want child support? If child support is requested and I close the public assistance case, can the child support be dropped?

Asked on 9/19/13, 7:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Smitten Carey and Leisure
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

So long as you collect state aid you must go after the other side for support. to answer your question - yes.

Read more
Answered on 9/20/13, 2:22 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now