Florida | Family Law
Legal Question
I am getting ready to file for bankruptcy and divorce. All debt is in my name because of my husband's lousy credit when we first got married (5/2007). ALL debt was incurred AFTER we were married.
I cleaned up his credit enough for HIM to qualify for an FHA loan on a $135,000 mortgage in 4/2009. The house that was in MY name only was purchased in 8/2007 and is currently in arrears several thousand dollars.
Would it be better for me to file bankruptcy BEFORE, AFTER, or AT THE SAME TIME as filing for divorce? My husband is not cooperating, has threatened me, and I have moved out for my own safety.


