Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/08/13, 10:49 am

My son has been separated for over 6 years but is afraid to divorce for fear of alimony as he is paying over a thousand a month in child support. He earns 65K a year and this leaves him with little to live on. His wife has the two kids and has been living with another man for four years now. My question is, in the state of Florida would he have to pay her alimony in this situation? They have been married for 17 years.

4 Answers


Answered on: 7/08/13, 10:56 am by Elliot Goldstein

Your son is a big boy, he should be making the inquires. With that being said, and with the facts as represented, he probably doesn't have much of an exposure to alimony. If anything, his continuing delay in getting a divorce only serves to weaken his case.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Elliot Jay Goldstein 1014 Ohio Ave., Ste. B Palm Harbor, FL 34683

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/08/13, 11:00 am by Carolyn Jones

It depends. You should have your son consult a attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Carolyn R. Jones 3107 Spring Glen Road suite 203 Jacksonville, FL 32207

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/08/13, 11:20 am by Brent Rose

Seventeen years is sort of the "magic line" at which alimony can become "lifetime alimony" in Florida, but given that they've been separated for so long, alimony sounds very unlikely. Also, since she is living with someone, if she and her boyfriend are commingling their money, there almost certainly won't be alimony.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Orsini & Rose Law Firm PO Box 891325 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33689

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/08/13, 11:24 am by John Smitten

If she is openly living with a new paramour he likely will not have to pay alimony.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


McGuire Law Offices 1173 NE Cleveland Street Clearwater, FL 33755

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search