Florida | Family Law
Legal Question
The standard of living during the marriage and alimony
The standard of living during the marriage
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward J. Chandler |
The standard of living during the marriage and alimony The factor involving the standard of living during the marriage is of little practical value in deciding the alimony question. Nichols v. Nichols, 907 So.2d 620, 623 (Fla. 4th DCA 2005) (when the parties have lived beyond their means, standard of living during marriage not a useful guide in awarding alimony). Moreover when a high standard of living has been made possible only by contributions from parents, awarding permanent alimony fixed at that standard could have a pernicious effect. Doing so rewards extravagance and encourages lifetime profligacy while discouraging correction, legitimizes waste, and perverts the basic purpose of alimony—providing assistance for those who are unable to support themselves. Fixing alimony at a profligate standard of living is to turn alimony into a lottery. That is one reason why the standard of living during marriage is not a super factor trumping all other factors in awarding alimony. Lambert v. Lambert, 955 So.2d 35 (Fla. 3d DCA 2007); Donoff v. Donoff, 940 So.2d 1221, 1225 (Fla. 4th DCA 2006) (purpose of factor about standard of living during marriage has only limited meaning and application). |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
The Orsini & Rose Law Firm
Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL
Questions Answered: 4585
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of Latangie Williams, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Offices of Marie-Anne Oatley
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


