Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

My stepdaughters mother was sentenced to one year in jail, she issued a notarized letter to her sister in a different state giving her custody. Wouldnt my husband get automatic custody. there is no custody order in place

Asked on 9/06/12, 8:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

R. Jason de Groot R. Jason de Groot, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, the father will be the primary care parent. The sister may be commiting a third degree felony, interference with child custody, if she refuses to give the child to the father.

Read more
9/07/12, 6:36 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8784 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now