Florida  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 11:50 pm

Legal Question


Hi im in a verbally abusive relationship we are not married and have two boys together one is 10 yrs old and the other is 2yrs.I would like to get out of this relationship.But he is threating to take my kids away from me.I don't drink smoke or us drugs.I have always worked.But i don't make enough money here in Fl. to support my boys.My mother's in New jersey and is willing to help me if I move to New Jersey.What steps can I take so I don't lose my boys.


question bubble
11/22/09, 10:29 am

Legal Answer


File a domestic violence action against the boyfriend and remove him from your current residence. If you are not willing to do that, then file an action in court for custody, support and visitation rights and file an action for possession of the home and furnishings, then ask the court to give you an Order allowing you to leave the state. These forms are on line under Family Law in any court web site or you can pick them up at the court house and fill them out there and file them. He will have to be served unless he waives that right.

Lucreita Becude

Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search