Florida  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/21/13, 2:02 pm

Hi,

I wanted to know is it legal or acceptable for a Family Law Judge to grant an Emergency Child Pick-up Order for a father who has NO Pre-existing court order awarding him custody rights to the children? The children reside with their birth mother and there is NO court order addressing anyone else's parental rights. The children were obtained by way of an emergency pick-up Order on the grounds that the Petitioner was taking ONE of them to get shots and a physical and enrolling her in school because the mother was supposedly incapable, which was not true. The mother had already scheduled the doctors appointment but the earliest available appointment was three days after school started. The child to be enrolled is 5 years old. The other child taken is 2 years old. He is not going to school. The Petitoner's emergency order was granted and enforced an the children were placed in his physical possession though he has no legal custody rights and was not given physical custody by way of a court order. Is this legal? Is this acceptable?

4 Answers


Answered on: 8/21/13, 2:18 pm by Brent Rose

If the father had never filed any form of paternity case, I would generally say no. But if the father has filed for any indication of "custodial rights," for instance, one of the parties has filed a paternity case, one of the parties has filed for child support, either of the parties has filed with Child Support Enforcement (DOR), one of the parties filed for an injunction for domestic or family violence, etc., I would say the judge's order is lawful.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Orsini & Rose Law Firm PO Box 891325 Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33689

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/21/13, 3:18 pm by Robert McCall

Call the TV station, newspaper, DCF and your attorney. If there is no court action awarding a legal interest he has lied or misrepresented his status to obtain the kids.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Robert McCall 1515 Elizabeth Street, Suite H Melbourne, FL 32901

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/22/13, 3:42 am by John Smitten

for whatever reason the court granted the request so you need to consult with a lawyer asap to deal with this situation. Calling a TV station and the newspaper will not help you in any way.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


McGuire Law Offices 1173 NE Cleveland Street Clearwater, FL 33755

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/22/13, 11:20 am by Carolyn Jones

You need to call a local attorney and have a consultation they can tell you the right course of action to address your legal matter.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Carolyn R. Jones 3107 Spring Glen Road suite 203 Jacksonville, FL 32207

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search