Florida  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
10/12/08, 9:24 pm

Legal Question


FMLA leave, forced resignation

I live and work in Florida. I 'm at the end of using my 12 week FMLA for my son's medical condition. While on FMLA, my employer continued to provide my insurance. But, I was told since I am at the end of the 12 weeks, and dont return by a certain date, I will be forced to resign.

1st question... In the state of Florida, if I am forced to resign will I be eligible for unemployment ?

2nd question... My employer stated my insurance coverage would end the day of '' termination''.

Aren't they required to provide insurance for 30 days after ?

And if not, how would Cobra kick in ?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search