Florida | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
enforcing a judgment
How can I enforce a judgement? I wage garnishment a possibility?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Joel Bello |
Re: enforcing a judgment If you want to have your final judgment entered as a lien against a real property owned by the defendant, you must obtain a certified copy at the location where your case was heard and then have it recorded by the Clerk. The recorded Final Judgment will serve as a lien for up to 20 years from the date the Judgment was signed but must be re-recorded every ten years to stay in effect.
If you know the name and address of the employer or the bank of the defendant, you may want to use the process of Garnishment. This is an order issued by the deputy clerk in which a third party, usually an employer or a bank, is told to hold funds until a hearing is held and a judge decides if the funds should be awarded to you.
A Writ of Execution which commands the Sheriff's Department to make demand for the amount of your Final Judgment from the defendant, this may be issued by a deputy clerk upon request. This is only effective if you obtain an Instruction for Levy form from the Sheriff's Office and complete it, giving a description and location of property that the sheriff can take from the defendant and put up for auction.
If you do not know the employer or bank of the defendant and if you do not know the location of any property which might be subject to a Writ of Execution, you may file a motion with the Clerk's Office for a Hearing in Aid of Execution. The judge will then issue an order for the hearing and the defendants will be served with the order and a Fact Information Sheet. At the hearing, the defendant will be required to reveal assets, employment and sources of income to the judge.
|
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Sanchez-Medina, Gonzalez, Quesada, Lage, Crespo, Gomez & MachadoLLP
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 806
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-12
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Marie-Anne Oatley
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


