Florida  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/27/13, 4:42 am

My husband worked for his cousin and was not paid for it. He is owed nearly $8, 000. Can he put a lien on his property or business (in Florida) ?

4 Answers


Answered on: 6/27/13, 4:55 am by David Slater

He needs to sue and obtain a court judgment.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/27/13, 5:41 am by David Ciccarello

He can only put a lien on the property if the work he did was actual improvements to the property and it has not been over 90 days since the date of the last improvement to the property. Otherwise, he would have to obtain a judgment before he could lien anything.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Knott Ebelini Hart 1625 Hendry Street Fort Myers, FL 33901

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/27/13, 5:52 am by Barry Stein

The other answers are right on point. I only write to say seek legal advice. Dont pursue this claim on your own.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary 25 SE 2nd Avenue Suite 425 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/27/13, 6:07 am by Angelo Marino

Wage loss claims provide for attorney's fees for your lawyer.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Angelo Marino Jr. PA 645 SE 5 Terrace Ft Lauderdale, 33301

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search