Florida  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/29/13, 6:59 am

if a judge makes a mistake by not observing some basic Rules of Civil Procedure, what remedies, if any, does the affect party has to seek compensation for the losses incurred due to the wrong decision.

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/29/13, 7:01 am by Barry Stein

Not following RCP will not likely give you a remedy depending on what the mistakes were and how they affect the judgment. Have the matters reviewed by an attorney to determine if you have a remedy or not. You are significant time limits associated with those very same Rules and you must follow them to assert your rights if appropriate. Act quickly.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary 25 SE 2nd Avenue Suite 425 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/29/13, 7:42 am by David Slater

Depending on your time limits, you may be able to seek reconsideration or an appeal.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/29/13, 12:24 pm by John DeLancett

Absent showing intentional wrongdoing, which is extremely difficult, if not impossible, you have no remedy for financial losses against the Judge or the court system. However, you may be able to recover attorneys fees and court costs against the other party should you appeal the decision and win, or if you ultimately win in the trial court. The right to attorneys fees arise under a contractual provision providing for them or under specific statutes that may apply to your case.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of John DeLancett, PL. 301 E. Pine Street, Suite 150 Orlando, FL 32801

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search