Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Florida

can monies received from a divorce settlement/401K that they chose to cash out instead of roll it over to another investement be forced to be used to pay off debts that they are delinquent on?

i.e. husband & wife divorce, wife receives $117,000 cash from ex's retirement account, wife defaults on all her debts she agreed to aquire in the divorce FJ can she be forced to pay those debts by the husband through lawsuit/contemp of court filing to bring those debts current or settled.

Asked on 7/08/13, 5:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

A contempt proceeding is available.

Read more
7/09/13, 5:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now