Florida | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Here is a question regarding consumer rights to make a stop payment on a check. I had a dispute with a local cabinetmaker who installed custom kitchen cabinets and quartz countertops. I wont go into too much detail on exactly what happened but here are the important points. No contract was presented to me. I paid all invoices upon request, 50% up front and 50% the day before installation. When the countertop was installed it was not what we agreed to. I made a stop payment on the final check for $1750.00 three days later. They were informed, and after a few negotiations, they agreed to a $1000.00 discount if I kept the countertops "as is". I paid the remaining amount ($750.00) and they returned the check with the stop payment, a scanned copy sent by their bank. This was a verbal agreement. Can I be sued in the future? Can they still re-submit the check for payment? Do i have to extend the 6 month stop payment forever? What rights do consumers have in these cases and how can we protect ourselves?


