Florida | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Sueing Employers
How many states are there where you cannot sue your
employer if you suffer an on the job injury, and how long as this law been in effect.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Patrick Russell |
Re: Sueing Employers I can not tell you what other states do but I can tell you what happens in Florida. In Florida, there is a system in place that provides worker's compensation insurance to injured employees. As a result, employees have insurance coverage up to $100,000.00 for medical expenses and damages should they be injured while on the job. The system is more or less a no-fault system which means an employee can still recover even if it was the employee's own negligence that caused the injury. In exchange for this no-fault coverage, employees are prohibited from suing their employers for such damages unless of course the employer failed to maintain such coverage. The only exception to the immunity from suit is in the narrow circumstance where the employer intended to injure an employee or the conduct by the employer was so outrageous that it can be proved that there was a substantial certainty that an employee would have been injured as a result of the employer's conduct.
I hope this gives you some insight as to how the worker's compensation tort immunity statute works. Feel free to contact me (305-373-5313) if you should have any further questions. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Sanchez-Medina, Gonzalez, Quesada, Lage, Crespo, Gomez & MachadoLLP
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 806
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-12
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Marie-Anne Oatley
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


