Florida | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Wage Garnishment
I was awarded a judgement for back rent and damages. How do I go about garnishing her wages to collect on this debt?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Peter Gonzalez |
Re: Wage Garnishment Without knowing more about the particulars of your case, I can only provide general guidance on your question. You may prepare and serve her employer with a writ of garnishment. You may also serve a writ of garnishment on any person or entity that may owe the judgment debtor money. The garnishee (which is the person or entity served with the writ) will have a limited time to respond to the writ, at which time you will learn what, if anything, is owed to the judgment debtor. This process may be tricky for someone who has never undertaken it, so I suggest you retain counsel or at least go through the process and its requirements (and the forms necessary for the same) with a qualified person who works at the courthouse, and carefully read the pertinent garnishment statutes. Please note that as a judgment creditor you have the right to get financial records from the judgment debtor that may help you find the money you are searching for (i.e., bank statements, insurance policies, etc.). Good luck. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Sanchez-Medina, Gonzalez, Quesada, Lage, Crespo, Gomez & MachadoLLP
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 806
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-12
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Marie-Anne Oatley
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


