Florida | Civil Litigation
11/14/07, 11:40 am
Legal Question
other woman
is it possible to sue for mental destress .in florida
other woman
is it possible to sue for mental destress .in florida
|
Read More Answered By: Edward J. Chandler |
Re: other woman If there was negligence, causation, breach of duty, foreseeability and you are permanently injured, this may be part of your overall damages in a personal injury lawsuit. |
|
Read More Answered By: Alan Wagner |
Re: other woman With due respect to Mr. Chandler, I think he is wrong.
From your subject and question I assume that you want to sue a woman who was having an affair or otherwise sexually or emotionally involved with your husband or boyfriend. ManyIn 1945, Florida abolished the ability to sue for such actions. Section 771.01, Florida Statutes, provides that:
The rights of action heretofore existing to recover sums of money as damage for the alienation of affections, criminal conversation, seduction or breach of contract to marry are hereby abolished.
You can also see the following cases: Harrington By and Through Harrington v. Pages, 440 So.2d 521 (Fla. 4th DCA 1983); Davis v. Hilton, 780 So.2d 974 (Fla. 4th DCA 2001); De La Portilla v. De La Portilla, 287 So.2d 345 (Fla. 3rd DCA 1973).
|
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Coral Gables, FL
Questions Answered: 806
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-12
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
► Depositions if served how can i legally not have to go ?
► Contractor Default on Contract We signed a contract for the construction of an...
► Posting a list of homeowners on bulletin board Can a mobile home association legally...
► Business Can a verbal agreement be broken without prior notice to person who was in...
► Lawn care co neglect My lawn care company has neglected my lawn to a point where it...
► Collection attorney I filed a small claims case for $1700 and won. I have yet to...
► Stolen from and now being sued My parents own a biz here in Florida. Their secretary...
More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press