Legal Question in Health Care Law in Florida

Baker Act and they charged my health insurance

I was picked up by a cop and admitted under Baker Act to a pych facility and kept for 8 days. It was involuntary, yet now my health insurance company is sending me a bill for $19K for my stay at the hospital even though I was Baker Act'd. The hospital charged me for 2 beds and I don't know why. Are they allowed to charge my insurance company when I was involuntarily admitted under the Baker Act? This happened at the Mt Sinai Hospital in Miami Beach, FL in March 2009.

Asked on 5/24/09, 5:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Baker Act and they charged my health insurance

Your health insurance should pay for this.

Read more
Answered on 5/24/09, 2:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Health Care Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Health Care Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now