Florida  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
10/30/09, 10:41 am

Legal Question


I've been in this country since 04/02/98. I got married 08/22/07, I was illegal, I am a permanent resident since 04/02/2009 and i have to renew it by 04/02/11. My husband and I have a 9 month old together, we were sort of happy. Unfortunately, He turned out to be an unbearably emotional abusive man, he did hit me once and I called the cops but never pressed charges because he is my girls' father and he is also going to criminal school and that would have affected his career. Now that I have finally left him, he keeps making threats about how he is going to keep the baby a week him, a week me, a week him, a week me and so on. I tell him thats not possible my baby is too young and needs mommy more than anyone, no one can attend to her needs like i can, its impossible that I could even live without her for a week. So his reaction was to tell me he would divorce me, deport me (because Im not a permanent resident) and he would keep the baby because she is a citizen and she has to stay in the states with him. I have no idea what to do, and hate giving my daughter a broken home, but this man is making my life a living hell, so far hes only taking her sunday to tuesday he is waititng for his mom to get here so she can help him wach her for the whole week. I am so not looking foward for that to happen because I think its going to get ugly on both sides. I need your help please.

Thank you for your time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search