ICE Hold
There are a few questions to ask before a seasoned Deportation/Removal Attorney could get involved and do some good.
Did he take a Criminal Plea, or was the conviction based on a full trial?
Did his previous Criminal Defense Attorney fully advise and educate him, or affirmatively mislead him, with regards to the Immigration Consequences of taking such a plea, if applicable? Even though the Matter of Lozada, 19 I&N Dec. 637 (BIA 1988) and Matter of Assaad (23 I & N Dec. 553 BIA 2003) case strategies have been affected significantly by the Matter of Compean case (24 I&N Dec. 710 A.G. 2009), there are remedies available for your son if more detailed information is provided.
Did he have Immigration Counsel at the time of taking such a plea, or did the Criminal Defense Attorney "stand in" as Immigration Counsel?
Did the Criminal Court Judge advise him on the record what the Immigration consequences would be of taking such a plea, as opposed to going to trial?
Is there currently an Immigration Hold ("Detainer") on him at this moment, and was he served with a Notice to Appear ("NTA")?
If he was served with an NTA, what were the exact charges?
There are hundreds more questions to ask, however, that exceed the scope and breadth of this initial query - please contact our seasoned Federal Immigration/Criminal Defense/Deportation/Removal Defense Attorneys immediately, to start getting both your and your son's life, back on track.
RDM