Florida  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 10:41 am

Legal Question


i am trying to find out what kind of lawyer i need to speak with i have had knee surgery and my dr. order a special knee brace and i have blue cross and blue sheild insurance and they have denined my brace.i m supposed to be wearing it within a week after surgery and i had surgery over a month now. this brace is to prevent me haven another surgery and it is very important i have it.please tell me what or who i need to talk to.i have spoke with the dr. and the insurance company and the guy who order my brace.the insurance will give me a off the shelf brand and thats not what the dr. order me to have


question bubble
11/15/09, 11:22 am

Legal Answer


Aren't insurance company's wonderful? And you thought they actually cared about what the doctors wanted. Potentially, you have a claim under your policy, but probably not. The "generic" brace may be all that is covered under your policy. You can probably have the carrier pay toward the brace your doctor wants and you can pay the rest. You might ask the doctor if you really need the fancy brace and why.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search