Florida | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Pretty generic question; Can the name of a team that is no longer in existed be used without breaking any copy right infringement laws?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
Names are not copyrighted. Names may be protected as trademarks. Trademark rights terminate after a period of non-use or non-renewal by their owners. Mere non-use for a short time will not invalidate trademark rights; rather, there must be evidence that the owner intends to abandon the mark permanently. Additionally, even if the trademark is no longer used as a "team" name or logo (the team down't exist anymore), the trademark may continue to be in use for merchandising related to the former team.
So, your "pretty generic question" is indeed too generic (and based on a faulty premise) to be given a specific yes or no answer. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Corporate Transactions, LLC (A Private Law Firm)
Miami Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 243
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-25
Philip A. Duvalsaint, P.A.
Coconut Creek, FL
Questions Answered: 231
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Kolb, Cintron, & Associates
Oldsmar,
Questions Answered: 90
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-12
Wendell Finner, P.A.
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 58
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-09-16
Search Questions and Answers


