Florida  |  Juvenile Dependency

question bubble
10/08/09, 10:58 am

Legal Question


Can the press release the name of a female 15 year old charged with felony battery on a teacher? Can it be a felony if no injuries or harm occurred?


question bubble
10/08/09, 12:35 pm

Legal Answer


The press is free to print anything they learned of at a public hearing, which may include the name of a juvenile defendant.

Battery is a felony if it occurs on a school board employee (which includes teachers), even if the school board employee suffers no harm or injury.

Brent Rose

The Orsini & Rose Law Firm
410 Ware Boulevard, Suite 401
Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL 33619

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search