Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Does 12 weeks mean 12 weeks, or does it mean whatever portion of 12 weeks is le
My employer requires FML certifications be physician certified in January. (Jan-Dec year).This past year, my physician certified my FML papers in mid-November. Since there are not 12 weeks left in the period year my employer dictates, does that mean I have to have my physician recertify my leave in January (from 4 weeks prior), and if so, what happens to the other 8 weeks I was entitled to? I receive leave for intermittant care for chronic conditions. To sum it up, since the employer gets to choose the certification year, rather than beginning on the date of M.D. certification, do I have to ask my M.D. to recertify me to suit my employers calendar, and do I lose a part of the 12 weeks allowed by law?


