Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Agriculture overtime exemption
My wife worked for an agriculture company (livestock), for 2 years. She worked as a receptionist/data entry clerk in the office, full time. Pay was based upon a 40 hour workweek and paid weekly. Hours worked at the above mentioned job above 40 hours in a workweek were paid at her straight hourly wage. She did not receive pay at 1-1/2 times her hourly rate of pay, for work over 40 hours in the workweek. The company claimed agriculture overtime exemption. She was not a salaried employee. Under CFR Title 29, Chapter V, Part 780, I did not see where the company could claim the exemption on her. Does she have a claim on the unpaid overtime? And how long since her seperation does she have to file a claim? Where does she file a claim for the unpaid overtime? Thanking you in advance,


