Florida  |  Employment Law

question bubble
6/09/09, 12:09 pm

Legal Question


Brad Etheridge v. Reins International California, Inc. Question

Hello,

I am a restaurant staff member of a large chain restaurant in Orlando and have a question about Brad Etheridge v. Reins International California, Inc.

I work in the window as an expediter to make food presentation ready--and act as a liaison between the front and back of house. For 10 years have received my income by tip outs. (servers have been required to tip me at minimum 1% of their shift sales).

Last week, my company referenced this lawsuit and said that I can no longer receive tips because of it. From what I am reading, this is untrue. My tips have been taken away, and I have now become an hourly employee--at a rate that is considerably lower than the average hourly pay I have made for the last 10 years.

Is this legal? Help!


question bubble
6/11/09, 2:08 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Brad Etheridge v. Reins International California, Inc. Question

I have a number of tip litigations going on. Feel free to call or e-mail me if you wish to get further legal advice. Thanks.

Scott Behren

Scott Behren

Behren Law Firm 2893 Executive Park Drive-Suite 203 Weston, FL 33331

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/09/09, 3:01 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Brad Etheridge v. Reins International California, Inc. Question

Do you have a written employee contract.

Charles Gallagher

Gallagher & Associates Law Firm, P.A. 5720 Central Avenue St. Petersburg, FL 33707

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search