Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Compensation for being ''on call''
I work as a Detective for a county L.E. agency in Florida. We are placed on a ''on call'' status during our off hours should an incident arise that we need to respond to or to provide advice on how to handle a given incident via telephone. We are only paid when we actually respond to an incident. Is there a law that provides for compensation for being ''on call''? We are required to respond within a ''reasonable'' amount of time if called/paged. Obviously, when ''on call'' our freedom is greatly restricted as far as where we can go and what we can do. I heard that federal law required the employer to compensate the employee's under these circumstances from someone in law enforcement in Georgia. I work for a Sheriff and we have no union. Also, the detective assignment is voluntary, but being ''on call'' is not. Thank you.


