Florida  |  Employment Law

question bubble
6/07/09, 5:42 pm

Legal Question


employement law

My mother owns 49% of a fanchise with a partner that was a close friend. They went into the buisness 50/50 layout and the buisness has done well, on june 5th a letter was presented to my mother from her partners attorney, that stated among many false and untrue claims, that my mother and my daughter were both being fired due to the fact the buisness partner wants full control and them working there would be a conflict of intrest. My daughter has worked at the store for one year, is 16 yrs old, has never missed a day of work, never been late, and covers for other employees when they call out. The business partner has 5 duaghters of which 3 work for the store. Dmy daughter have any recourse for wrongful termination?


question bubble
6/07/09, 6:05 pm

Legal Answer


Re: employement law

Probably not based on what you describe.

William Gwaltney

William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law 4832 Kerry Forest Parkway, Suite B Tallahassee, FL 32309

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/07/09, 9:57 pm

Legal Answer


Re: employement law

Maybe, if there is a false statement which was the pretext for her termination. Florida is an employer friendly state and its hard to proceed unless there is some overt discrimination.

Charles Gallagher

Gallagher & Associates Law Firm, P.A. 5720 Central Avenue St. Petersburg, FL 33707

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search