Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Employment Law
In the state of Florida is there a time limit an employer has to release a final check when an employee has quit of their own volition?
Employment Law
In the state of Florida is there a time limit an employer has to release a final check when an employee has quit of their own volition?
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Frisch |
Re: Employment Law Under both Federal and Florida law, your final paycheck is typically due on the normal pay date. If that day has come and gone, you may have a valid case under both the Fair Labor Standard Act and Florida law for unpaid minimum wages. In addition to your final paycheck, you may be entitled to double (liquidated) damages and to have attorneys fees and costs paid by your ex-employer. I regularly handle such cases on a contingency basis. If you'd like to discuss this at greater length, feel free to contact me at (877)456-WAGE. |
|
Read More Answered By: Danialle Riggins |
Re: Employment Law An employer should pay a former employee his or her final paycheck on the following scheduled payday. If the employer fails to do so, the employee is required to contact the employer in writing and give the employer 15 days to submit the final paycheck.
After the 15 days, the employee then has the right to file a lawsuit if the wages or not received.
But before jumping into court, make sure that the former employer has the correct address to mail the check and all other contact information is correct and updated.
If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact me directly.
Good luck! |
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 633
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-17
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Questions Answered: 543
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-02
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 475
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-19
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Davie, FL
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
► Wrongful termination My friend just got let go from his job last week and we were...
► Demotion Can you demote a person from salary to hourly wages and decrease that...
► Employer Asking For Medical Information I have a note from an emergency room...
► Chef's recipes....personal property? I am a Pastry Chef at a restaurant and I...
► Withholding a check My dad was working for this small company and when he quit he...
► Terminated from work Was terminated due to me being in the hospital 2 times with...
► Military Harassment Continued More details. I have a 1995 settlement agreement for...
More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press