Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Not sure what to do
Not sure where this fall but I want to know how much leeway does an employer have in questioning you if they suspect something. I was working at a department store part time for a year. Last month, I agreed to extend my associate discount to a friend and apparently that was caught on tape (since I have to put her purchase on my credit card for the discount happen and she paid me back) and I was being watched ever since unknowingly. On Saturday we did it again, I was called and interrogated for about two hours and then the guy from loss prevention dicated a statement that I had to write down, at time he would say ''oh no I not that, write this'' He read every line that I read to approve. I was so shocked and afraid really since they had another associate arrested just Wednesday not sure why that I was afraid the same would happen to me if I did not go along with it. Everyone is working there now in fear, I was lucky that this was my part time job so I did not mind losing it but there are people there who support themselves solely by working there. Is there something that can be done? They claim that it's in the handbook that we cannot give the discount to anyone but I don't remember getting one. Now I have to pay it back.


