Florida  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/25/07, 9:14 pm

Legal Question


Florida -- Wages withheld after termination

I worked for a law firm for all of 13.5 days & was terminated. I misplaced the first payroll check (have never, ever done that before), advised the employer I would pay a stop order fee and requested the check be replaced right away. Within an hour I was terminated and was told my pay (lost check and current period) would be paid; I even received a voicemail at home the same afternoon from the receptionist that my pay would be put in the mail --- I e-mailed them that I needed my money asap as I was now accumulating overdraft fees for automatic pymnts & needed 2 pay my mortgage & car pymnts. After several days I was e-mailed by the head attorney that my pay was being withheld pending investigation by them as to any attorney fees or malpractice that MIGHT happen due to my so-called negligence--give me a break---I demanded they pay me w/in 5 days to no avail. What are my options? I now have losses over and above overdraft fees (I was unemployed previous to starting there and behind in bills). I had an arrangement with GMAC to make a car payment and work on making up the backlog payments. Because the attorney has held my entire pay, my car was re-possessed two day before Thanksgiving --Help, Please!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search