Legal Question in Employment Law in Florida

FMLA and Employment Verification

I was in the middle of a mortgage application when I became ill. I have been aproved for FMLA leave and only expect it to last a month or so. My question is: When the mortgage lender does an employment verification inquiry with human resources, will my status be reported as on unpaid leave? I am sure the lender would have an issue with this.

Would this not be covered under HIPAA? I am still employed by this company while on leave, correct?

Asked on 8/30/08, 7:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: FMLA and Employment Verification

They may report you as an employee or on unpaid leave. Both would be accurate. Copntact HR and ask what they are going to do.

Read more
9/02/08, 9:15 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8785 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now