Florida  |  Employment Law

question bubble
6/08/09, 10:54 pm

Legal Question


Labor Law question

I work for a local company for 15 years. For the past 10 years (or so) I have been working as a salaried manager. I am required to work 45 to 50 hours for my salaried pay. When I am allowed overtime, (anything over 50 hours), they pay me less than my normal hourly average. When I ask about it, they tell me it's because they are seasonal. This has been going on for YEARS. What can I do about it? I've always assumed that salaried employees don't get overtime, but recently I've heard otherwise.


question bubble
6/09/09, 6:23 am

Legal Answer


Re: Labor Law question

The term "salary" has limited legal significance. What matters for purposes of overtime is what your job actually requires of you. You should email my office, msarelson@sarelson-shafir.com or call, and I'll have some specific questions for you. You may be entitled to significant back pay. Best, Matthew

Matthew Sarelson

Sarelson & Shafir LLP 1401 Brickell Avenue, Suite 510 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/09/09, 8:46 am

Legal Answer


Re: Labor Law question

If you are a salaried manager, you are not entitled to overtime. Whatever they are paying you as overtime is not required.

Charles Gallagher

Gallagher & Associates Law Firm, P.A. 5720 Central Avenue St. Petersburg, FL 33707

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/09/09, 8:46 am

Legal Answer


Re: Labor Law question

If you are a salaried manager, you are not entitled to overtime. Whatever they are paying you as overtime is not required.

Charles Gallagher

Gallagher & Associates Law Firm, P.A. 5720 Central Avenue St. Petersburg, FL 33707

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/09/09, 8:47 am

Legal Answer


Re: Labor Law question

If you are a salaried manager, you are not entitled to overtime. Whatever they are paying you as overtime is not required.

Charles Gallagher

Gallagher & Associates Law Firm, P.A. 5720 Central Avenue St. Petersburg, FL 33707

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/09/09, 8:47 am

Legal Answer


Re: Labor Law question

If you are a salaried manager, you are not entitled to overtime. Whatever they are paying you as overtime is not required.

Charles Gallagher

Gallagher & Associates Law Firm, P.A. 5720 Central Avenue St. Petersburg, FL 33707

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
6/09/09, 8:47 am

Legal Answer


Re: Labor Law question

If you are a salaried manager, you are not entitled to overtime. Whatever they are paying you as overtime is not required.

Charles Gallagher

Gallagher & Associates Law Firm, P.A. 5720 Central Avenue St. Petersburg, FL 33707

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search